Book Award & Media Award

About the awards

Oral History Australia introduced its Book Award and Media Award for the first time in 2019 to encourage innovative and excellent applications of oral history.

Like the Hazel de Berg Award for Excellence in Oral History, these two awards are timed to coincide with the OHA Biennial Conference.

Applications now open

Click on a button below to find out how to apply. Closing date: 1 August 2021.

Book Award recipients

Peg Fraser

Book cover

Black Saturday: Not the end of the story

Author: Peg Fraser

Publisher: Monash University Publishing, 2018, Web address:

Find out more about the book and the judges comments.


Media Award recipients

Joint winners

A City Responds to Crisis: Volunteers and the HIV/AIDS epidemic in Sydney 1980s-1990s

The Making of Mardi Gras

Find out more about these projects and the judges comments.

Skip to content