OHA Media Award 2024

Applications are now being accepted for the 2024 Oral History Australia Media Award.

Information for applicants

Oral historians based in Australia are encouraged to apply for this biennial media award presented by Oral History Australia (OHA), available to an oral history production in any media other than a book. Note that there is also an OHA Book Award 2024 for which further details are available on the OHA website at

Closing date: 31 August 2024.


The production:

  • will be in any media that is not a book or ebook, including, for example, film or radio production, podcast, exhibition, website, dramatic performance, art installation… or other media
  •  must have been produced, published, exhibited or performed in the period between 1 August 2022 and 31 August 2024
  •  must make substantial use of oral history material.

The award is open to oral historians working in any field, across community, academic, media or professional history.


  • must be based in Australia, though the production is not required to include Australian oral history content
  • need not be members of OHA state associations, though they are encouraged to join.

Judging criteria

The award winner will have made an innovative, excellent and inspirational use of oral history in a media production other than a book. Judges will take into account the funding and other resources available for the production, so that less well-resourced productions are not disadvantaged.

The judging panel may award a joint prize and / or Commendations for Excellence to outstanding runners-up. The award winner will receive a prize of $300 and the names of all commended applicants will be posted on the OHA website.

How to apply

Applicants must email an application as a Word document or PDF attachment, to the email, no later than 31 August 2024, including:

  1. Applicant/s name (and organisational affiliation, if applicable).
  2. Applicant/s contact address, phone number, email and (where available) web address.
  3. You must specify you are applying for the Oral History Australia Media Award.
  4. Media production details, including producer/s, title, format, date of production and web address (as appropriate).
  5. In no more than 500 words, a description of the production and an explanation of why it is deserving of an award for innovative, excellent and inspirational use of oral history.
  6. If the production has a digital format, then one copy must be sent to each of the judges using the WeTransfer email facility. For an ephemeral media production such as a dramatic performance, exhibition or art installation, you must provide each judge with appropriate and sufficient evidence (e.g. a video of the production).

Your application will be forwarded to each of the judges who will respond to you with a postal address to send a hard copy of any files needed for further consideration.


The judges for this award are: Elisabeth Gondwe, Alison Atkinson-Phillips and Anisa Puri.

Go to:

Information for applicants:

Skip to content