OHA Book Award 2022

Nominations are now open for the 2021 Oral History Australia Book Award.

Information for applicants

Oral historians based in Australia are encouraged to apply for this biennial book award presented by Oral History Australia (OHA). Note that there is also an OHA Media Award 2021 (available to an oral history production in any media other than a book) for which further details are available on the OHA website at https://oralhistoryaustralia.org.au/media-award-apply.

Closing date: 1 August 2022.


  • the book must have been published in the period 1 August 2021 to 31 July 2022
  • the book must make substantial use of oral history material
  • the book may be published in hardback and/or paperback, and/or as an ebook
  • the award is open to oral historians working in any field, across community, academic, media or professional history
  • applicants must be based in Australia, though the book is not required to include Australian oral history content
  • applicants need not be members of OHA state associations, though they are encouraged to join.

Judging criteria

The award winner will have made an innovative, excellent and inspirational use of oral history.

The judging panel may award a joint prize and / or Commendations for Excellence to outstanding runners-up. The award winner will receive a prize of $300, and the names of all shortlisted applicants will be posted on the OHA website.

How to apply

Applicants must email an application as a Word document or PDF attachment, to each of the judges listed below, no later than 1 August 2022, including:

  1. Applicant/s name (and organisational affiliation, if applicable).
  2. Applicant/s contact address, phone number, email and (where available) web address.
  3. You must specify you are applying for the Oral History Australia Book Award.
  4. Book details, including author/s, title, publisher, date of production and web address (as appropriate).
  5. In no more than 500 words, a description of the book and an explanation of why it is deserving of an award for innovative, excellent and inspirational use of oral history.

You must also post one hard copy of the book to each of the judges at the following addresses (if the book is an ebook only, you must send each judge a copy by email or WeTransfer).


Beth Robertson, mail: c/o State Library South Australia, GPO Box 419, Adelaide, SA, 5001, email: beemar@ozemail.com.au

Scott McKinnon, mail: 24bHampton Circuit, Yarralumla, ACT, 2600, email: scottmck@uow.edu.au

Peg Fraser, mail: 7 Linwood Avenue, Aldgate, SA, 5154, email: pegfraser1@gmail.com



Skip to content