Oral History Australia’s work is governed by a national committee comprised of delegates from each of our six State associations.

The committee selects office-bearers from its membership and may also co-opt additional persons for special purposes. Co-opted members have no voting rights and must be financial members of their Member Associations.

Download the OHA Constitution (PDF)
Find out about membership
Download the OHA President 2023 Report


President – Alistair Thomson

Secretary – David Sweet

Vice President – Jill Cassidy

Treasurer – Kyra Edwards

Public Officer –  Maria Savvidis

National Committee

NSW/ACT – Maria Savvidis

Queensland – Elisabeth Gondwe

SA/NT – Christeen Schoepf

Tasmania – Jill Cassidy

Victoria – Alistair Thomson

Western Australia – Tracy Willet

Co-opted members


William Martin, representing the Northern Territory


Joint editors: Dr Skye Krichauff and Dr Carolyn Collins

Chair Editorial Board: Alexandra Dellios

Find out more about our:


Web manager: Judy Hughes


International Oral History Association Oceania representative: Nepia Mahuika

Alistair Thomson profile

Alistair Thomson

OHA National President

Emeritus Professor of History, Monash University

My research and teaching explores the ways in which life story evidence illuminates the past and its meanings in the present lives of individuals and society.

My books have explored the histories and memories of war veterans, migrants, adult learners and post-WW2 families, in Britain and Australia. As an internationally renowned oral historian, I write about the theory and method of oral history and life history research, including research involving recorded and written memory, diaries and letters, and family photographs.

View online profile for more information.

Skip to content