About our awards

Oral History Australia (OHA) offers three awards to recognise and encourage achievement in the field of oral history.

Each of the three awards are timed to coincide with the OHA Biennial Conference.

The Hazel de Berg Award, which was first issued in 2006, recognises a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of oral history over a considerable period of time.

The OHA Book Award and OHA Media Award were introduced in 2019 with the inaugural recipients announced in early 2020.

Upcoming awards

The next round of awards will coincide with the 2021 OHA Biennial Conference in Launceston, Tasmania.

Latest award recipients – 2019

Hazel de Berg Award for Excellence in Oral History


Rosemary Block

Rosemary Block with award

In recognition of an outstanding contribution to oral history including her work as Curator of Oral History at the State Library of New Soyuth Wales and as a former national president of Oral History Australia and Oral History NSW.

OHA Book Award


Black Saturday: Not the end of the story

Author: Peg Fraser

Publisher: Monash University Publishing, 2018, Web address:

Book cover

OHA Media Award – Joint winners


A City Responds to Crisis: Volunteers and the HIV/AIDS epidemic in Sydney 1980s-1990s

The Making of Mardi Gras



Skip to content